Why have a UVB light if hermit crabs hide all day?

This is where you discuss the conditions of your crabitat -- temperature, humidity, substrate, decorating, etc.

Topic author
zokirova

Why have a UVB light if hermit crabs hide all day?

Post by zokirova » Tue Feb 12, 2019 12:36 pm

I'm new at this and have so many questions, and love to hear from people who know what they are doing! I bought a UVB light and am wondering how it would be helpful to herrmies if they just hide all day? I never see the out in the day, and of course I turn the UVB light off at night. My question is,why bother having a UVB light if the crabbies never come out to bask in it?

ciaraalston

Re: Why have a UVB light if hermit crabs hide all day?

Post by ciaraalston » Tue Feb 12, 2019 1:08 pm

I've seen people say they're crabs are more active with the light.
What are your heat and humidity levels? Are they new crabs? If so, they're probably adjusting. Also, purple Pinchers are less active than ecuadorian crabs. Mine come out, but not like my E. He's all over the place lol

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Tapatalk

4 purple pinchers & 2 ecuadorians living a life of luxury in south west Louisiana.
Follow my hermit crab learning journey on instagram! @hermitcrabs_in_the_boot

Topic author
zokirova

Post by zokirova » Tue Feb 12, 2019 4:30 pm