She'll problem

This is where you discuss shells for your hermit crabs. Not for selling/swapping shells, use Classified Ads for that.

Topic author
carrieaurquhart

She'll problem

Post by carrieaurquhart » Tue Sep 11, 2018 2:19 pm

I have a crab who is in a novelty shell that looks like a football helmet. This is my first pair of crabs, and I'm still learning. I know now it's not good for him, 1 because it has hot glue all over the bottom, and 2 because there is a gap above the shell and the football helmet that collects debris. I can't make him get out of it obviously, but I also can't figure a way to help him. He can't tunnel underground with it, i assume, since he never has. I thought about cutting it off, no go without damaging his shell. Only other option is to remove the hot glue and it should come off. But how do I do that? Rubbing Alcohol is supposed to remove it but I'm afraid to use it so close to him. And I also don't want to stress him out picking at it. Maybe just leave him be? Thoughts?

Hermiesguardian

Re: She'll problem

Post by Hermiesguardian » Tue Sep 11, 2018 2:23 pm

carrieaurquhart wrote:I have a crab who is in a novelty shell that looks like a football helmet. This is my first pair of crabs, and I'm still learning. I know now it's not good for him, 1 because it has hot glue all over the bottom, and 2 because there is a gap above the shell and the football helmet that collects debris. I can't make him get out of it obviously, but I also can't figure a way to help him. He can't tunnel underground with it, i assume, since he never has. I thought about cutting it off, no go without damaging his shell. Only other option is to remove the hot glue and it should come off. But how do I do that? Rubbing Alcohol is supposed to remove it but I'm afraid to use it so close to him. And I also don't want to stress him out picking at it. Maybe just leave him be? Thoughts?