Keeping substrate moist

This is where you discuss the conditions of your crabitat -- temperature, humidity, substrate, decorating, etc.
Post Reply

Topic author
SLEPTAS
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 11:36 pm

Keeping substrate moist

Post by SLEPTAS » Thu Jan 31, 2019 12:28 am

So I've tried just about everything I can raise my humidity levels but there still staying around 30-50%. Half of the take is all water and I have bubbles in that pool. I have moss all around the tank. I have a plastic sealed lid. I just dont know what else I can do to raise the humidity. My substrate isnt holding a lot of moister but that might be because the top layer isnt mixed with sand. Would sand help with this problem?

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk


User avatar

aussieJJDude
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4265
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 8:12 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Keeping substrate moist

Post by aussieJJDude » Thu Jan 31, 2019 5:42 am

One thing I haven't seen you mention is if you have in fact calibrated the gauge. So my question, have you calibrated the gauge - I know, shocker, didn't see that question coming at all! :D

It's like to be a gauge issue, unless the bubblers are a little too powerful and pushing too much dry air into the tank and drying it out a bit.
Crabs || Fish || Shrimp || Snails || Plants || Insects

25G Nano Freshwater || 64G Freshwater Community || 90G Fancy Goldie Pond || 64G Crabitat
I've never had any problems with 'Impulse Buying'... They're just things I forgot I had planned to get || Self Designated 'HCA Pic Fan' 2012+


Topic author
SLEPTAS
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 11:36 pm

Re: Keeping substrate moist

Post by SLEPTAS » Thu Jan 31, 2019 10:38 am

My gauge may not be calibrated but I can still tell that the humidity is slow just by feeling inside the tank. It doesnt change much from the feel of the room I have them in.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk


User avatar

Hermiesguardian
Posts: 2623
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2017 10:41 pm

Re: Keeping substrate moist

Post by Hermiesguardian » Thu Jan 31, 2019 12:51 pm

When you set up your tank did you mix the substrate with enough water (dechlorinated) to hold its shape? How much if your substrate is sand?
raising son's dog, Dante. Husky/hound.
Raising daughter's hermit crabs, Shelder, Paras and Derek. Added 2 more of my own (of course) Pete and Stryper. Former mommy to 2 guinea pigs and beloved cat, Nissi


Topic author
SLEPTAS
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 11:36 pm

Re: Keeping substrate moist

Post by SLEPTAS » Thu Jan 31, 2019 6:43 pm

It held it shape well at the begining. I have it at like half and half sand and eco earth

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk


User avatar

wodesorel
Tech Support
Tech Support
Posts: 9173
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2009 8:49 am
Location: Leetonia, Ohio
Contact:

Re: Keeping substrate moist

Post by wodesorel » Fri Feb 01, 2019 12:05 am

An EE topper will likely boost humidity more than a sand mix would.

I agree those numbers don't seem right at all. I would strongly suggest calibrating before panicking as well! Humidity is hard to judge only with skin. viewtopic.php?f=26&t=92540

Post Reply