Coir peat

This is where you discuss the conditions of your crabitat -- temperature, humidity, substrate, decorating, etc.
Post Reply
User avatar

Topic author
Elli
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 3:29 am
Location: Victoria

Coir peat

Post by Elli » Sun May 31, 2020 6:15 am

Hi guys just wanted to double check that my coir peat (used in Australia instead of ee) was still ok to use. My tank currently has 7.5 inches of substrate coir peat sand mix. For future top ups would the peat be ok? There are white spots in it after sitting outside in bag for 3 weeks and I can't remember if that's how it was before.Image

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk


User avatar

wodesorel
Tech Support
Tech Support
Posts: 9815
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2009 8:49 am
Location: Leetonia, Ohio
Contact:

Re: Coir peat

Post by wodesorel » Mon Jun 01, 2020 2:29 am

So long as it's not contamination from something else, it's fine to use. When cocofiber is stored moist, it can easily grow mold on the surface. Just getting it aired out should be enough to prevent more growth, but removing the obvious spots wouldn't be a bad idea.
Want to see all my crazy pets? @waywardwaifs on Instagram

User avatar

Topic author
Elli
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 3:29 am
Location: Victoria

Re: Coir peat

Post by Elli » Mon Jun 01, 2020 6:31 am

wodesorel wrote:
Mon Jun 01, 2020 2:29 am
So long as it's not contamination from something else, it's fine to use. When cocofiber is stored moist, it can easily grow mold on the surface. Just getting it aired out should be enough to prevent more growth, but removing the obvious spots wouldn't be a bad idea.
Thank you, i will air it out and try to pick out what i can :)

Post Reply