Molting Again?

Please post here if you are having a crab care emergency! Use a real subject and not just "HELP!"

Topic author
Jamison

Molting Again?

Post by Jamison » Tue Jan 01, 2019 10:14 am

Hi everyone, I am officially in panic mode. So in September I got my two new pp's. They mooted immediately and were doing awesome when they came up. But now they are both underground again. I already have extreme anxiety and this is making it worse. I love my crabs so much and if anything happened to one of them I would not be the same again. HELP
2 purple pinchers
1 old dog

I will miss you Lloyd! Good luck up In Hermie Heaven!
You to Hagrid!

RiNiKy506

Re: Molting Again?

Post by RiNiKy506 » Tue Jan 01, 2019 10:23 am

How big are they? I’m not very experienced myself but I had two of my smaller crabs go down, come up from a molt, and then go down a month later again. My second smallest came up yesterday, with my largest. Smaller crabs can molt more often, I’ve read.

Rod♡Salty♡Bob♡Squirt♡Crabina♡Who
»-♡-> Our Purple Pinchers <-♡-«

ha_haley

Post by ha_haley » Tue Jan 01, 2019 10:24 am

This is perfectly normally! A lot of crabs that come from not so great conditions will often pull back to back molts and depending on the size of the crabs, they may molt more often.

I have 2 Ecuadorians that I adopted in October that molted for a month or so and they went down again the first week of December.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Topic author
Jamison

Post by Jamison » Tue Jan 01, 2019 10:36 am

RiNiKy506 wrote:How big are they? I’m not very experienced myself but I had two of my smaller crabs go down, come up from a molt, and then go down a month later again. My second smallest came up yesterday, with my largest. Smaller crabs can molt more often, I’ve read.

Rod♡Salty♡Bob♡Squirt♡Crabina♡Who
»-♡-> Our Purple Pinchers <-♡-«
One of my crabs is the size of a quarter. The other is golf ball sized.
2 purple pinchers
1 old dog

You to Hagrid!

Topic author
Jamison