Substrate

Please post here if you are having a crab care emergency! Use a real subject and not just "HELP!"
Post Reply

Topic author
Leslye123
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2019 1:48 am

Substrate

Post by Leslye123 » Mon Sep 16, 2019 1:52 am

I recently used eco earth and play sand in my tank but I didn’t prime water do I need to throw it all away and start from scratch or is there anyway to save it?

User avatar

aussieJJDude
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4196
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 8:12 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Substrate

Post by aussieJJDude » Mon Sep 16, 2019 6:03 am

Depending on how moist it is, you could use a couple of cups/a bottle of water treated with prime for the entire substrate volume, and mix it in!

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

Crabs || Fish || Shrimp || Snails || Plants || Insects

25G Nano Freshwater || 64G Freshwater Community || 90G Fancy Goldie Pond || 64G Crabitat
I've never had any problems with 'Impulse Buying'... They're just things I forgot I had planned to get || Self Designated 'HCA Pic Fan' 2012+

User avatar

wodesorel
Tech Support
Tech Support
Posts: 9096
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2009 8:49 am
Location: Leetonia, Ohio
Contact:

Re: Substrate

Post by wodesorel » Mon Sep 16, 2019 9:21 am

There isn't much of a concern when it's substrate. I've mixed sub and forgotten to dechlor many times over the years without issue. Chlorine dissapates in under 24 hours, and chloramines will naturally break down in acidic conditions (which EE is).

Post Reply