New Crab Owner and Clueless!

Please post here if you are a new crab owner and someone will be along shortly to welcome you to the HCA! This is also the place to welcome new crabbies to your clan!

Topic author
HermiesAreGreat

New Crab Owner and Clueless!

Post by HermiesAreGreat » Sun Apr 29, 2018 1:39 am

I bought a crab from a mall yesterday, extremely impulsive I know. I have some knowledge on how small animals (fish basically) need big tanks with very acute environmental settings and I've been doing research ever since I got this crab. I plan on getting a 10 gallon tank tomorrow, as well as proper substrate (coconut fiber), instantocean salt, an under tank heater (amazon), a hygrometer (amazon), and a thermometer. I will also be getting a second crab soon as I learned they are social animals, some more shells (and a new one, his is painted) as well as trying to set up an iso tank (I need immense help with that, I have no clue what I'm doing) I feel bad as my hermie (Earl) is stuck in a prison basically as it's those small plastic ones they give you. I am honestly not sure what else I need for his tank, so please, help! Also, I read that people iso their molting crabs, and I'm assuming they look for signs then iso them if they see the signs. I also don't know how to go about bathing. Also, is distilled water ok? What do I need to do to treat water and make ocean water mixes?
Please help! When do I isolate my crab during molting?

aussieJJDude
Administrator
Administrator

Re: New Crab Owner and Clueless!

Post by aussieJJDude » Sun Apr 29, 2018 5:30 am

Many on here only iso new crabs to make sure they not carrying illnesses - like fish - otherwise they just use them for spare tank for emergencies and a place to keep them temp if you need to mess around in their tank. As result, many dont actually have a iso tank rather a spare container that they can place in the tank for those emergencies.