New Owner, Advice Welcome!

Please post here if you are a new crab owner and someone will be along shortly to welcome you to the HCA! This is also the place to welcome new crabbies to your clan!

Topic author
StarKitt3n

New Owner, Advice Welcome!

Post by StarKitt3n » Tue Jul 02, 2019 4:29 pm

So I got two adorable little babies a few weeks ago while out of town. I realize now how a lot of people hate that you can buy them,but I simply fell in love with them and I hated how they were being kept so I had to at least help a couple of them.

Now I am a NOVICE admittedly I have no experience. I have been watching videos, reading lots of posts all over the internet and a lot of posts on here about how to care for them. Their tank isn't PERFECT yet, as I am on a tight budget so I'm slowly trying to upgrade things as I can.

However any good advice for someone on a budget would be very welcome! Good shops to buy products, best products for keeping them healthy, things like that!

Also advice on feeding! I'm honestly not sure how much they've been eating. I've put some fresh foods in their tank and been changing it out, but I can't tell much if they've eaten or if some of the marks I see were from me preparing it XD

I really want these little guys to make it, they already mean the world to me and I get so excited when I peek in their tank. I wanna be a really good Momma to them so I am welcome to any tips!

The Crab Maid

Re: New Owner, Advice Welcome!

Post by The Crab Maid » Tue Jul 02, 2019 8:15 pm

You can find some good online deals in the store section: http://www.hermitcrabassociation.com/ph ... .php?f=122

Food is pretty open to fresh fruits, veggies, untreated meats, eggs, etc. No preservatives or commercial hermit crab foods. Here is a good list: http://www.hermitcrabassociation.com/ph ... 25&t=92557

And welcome to the world of hermit crabs! :cheer: :crabbigsmile:
_φ(°-°=) ...... _φ( °-°)/ ...... φ(..)...... φ(..;) ..... φ(´д`o)

Topic author
StarKitt3n