Moss

For topics relating to crab care that do not fit into the other categories.

Topic author
SLEPTAS

Moss

Post by SLEPTAS » Tue Nov 27, 2018 12:30 am

So I'm new to keeping up the humidity. Currently I'm just spraying the tank with water occasionally but I feel like there is an easier way to keep the humidity up.

My question is what type of moss would be good to keep the humidity up and where could I get it for cheap (I'm about to move and dont have a lot of play money). Also what other ways do you guys keep the humidity up?

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

ciaraalston

Re: Moss

Post by ciaraalston » Tue Nov 27, 2018 11:18 am

I usually order my moss from TheHealthyHermit, but she's currently taking a break to breed hermit crabs so I got some from home Depot yesterday.
The sphagnum moss was $3 and the sheet moss was $3 or $4 I'm not sure.
The sphagnum moss I've made 6 iso totes with a large amount of moss and I still have over half a bag left. Once wet it's much easier to work with. ImageImageImageImage

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Tapatalk
4 purple pinchers & 2 ecuadorians living a life of luxury in south west Louisiana.
Follow my hermit crab learning journey on instagram! @hermitcrabs_in_the_boot

Hermiesguardian

Post by Hermiesguardian » Tue Nov 27, 2018 11:36 am

You can also put bubblers in your pools. Does your substrate have sandcastle consistancy to begin with? Are you using heat lamps? Those zap humidity. Is your lid sealed well?
raising son's dog, Dante. Husky/hound.
Raising daughter's hermit crabs, Shelder, Paras and Derek. Added 2 more of my own (of course) Pete and Stryper. Former mommy to 2 guinea pigs and beloved cat, Nissi

Topic author
SLEPTAS

Post by SLEPTAS » Tue Nov 27, 2018 11:40 am

Hermiesguardian wrote:You can also put bubblers in your pools. Does your substrate have sandcastle consistancy to begin with? Are you using heat lamps? Those zap humidity. Is your lid sealed well?