Command hook question

For topics relating to crab care that do not fit into the other categories.
Post Reply

Topic author
crabby33
Posts: 516
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2016 1:24 pm

Command hook question

Post by crabby33 » Sun Dec 16, 2018 3:03 pm

I just bought some Command hooks to hang my shell shop and eventual moss pit. How do we apply them to our glass tanks?

User avatar

LeeHasCrabs
Posts: 374
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2018 6:06 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Command hook question

Post by LeeHasCrabs » Sun Dec 16, 2018 3:06 pm

I used the adhesive that comes with. But over time I’ve found some stick better than others. Right now one side of my moss pit is starting to come loose and I’ve fixed it a few times already. Maybe a dab of aquarium safe glue would be a reinforcement.

Some have also used Velcro .


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar

LeeHasCrabs
Posts: 374
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2018 6:06 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Command hook question

Post by LeeHasCrabs » Sun Dec 16, 2018 3:55 pm

The little buggers keep pushing their moss to one side and out and that right side command hook hasn’t been sticking. LMAOImage


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar

Motörcrab
Posts: 889
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2017 9:56 pm
Location: Coal Region in Pennsylvania
Contact:

Re: Command hook question

Post by Motörcrab » Sun Dec 16, 2018 4:20 pm

I am hit and miss with the command hooks. Sometimes the clear sticks well, other times the white tabs do. My main suggestion would be to wipe the area you are going to stick the tabs very well several times. Be sure the area is completely dry and you press them in place firmly.
Help Improve Our Resources Section (weblinks)
http://www.hermitcrabassociation.com/ph ... 2&t=119315

Once we get more links the directors will update the resources in a few weeks. Thanks!

User avatar

wodesorel
Tech Support
Tech Support
Posts: 8861
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2009 8:49 am
Location: Leetonia, Ohio
Contact:

Re: Command hook question

Post by wodesorel » Sun Dec 16, 2018 4:25 pm

I bought outdoor, waterproof ones!

User avatar

LeeHasCrabs
Posts: 374
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2018 6:06 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Command hook question

Post by LeeHasCrabs » Tue Dec 18, 2018 12:54 am

And there goes one of my Command hooks.

Image


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Topic author
crabby33
Posts: 516
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2016 1:24 pm

Re: Command hook question

Post by crabby33 » Tue Dec 18, 2018 4:47 pm

That happened to me too but I figured out I was putting too many shells in the basket and it made it too heavy. I used a ceramic reptile climbing tree to prop up both of my shell shops. I decided to put the bigger, heavier shells in a different shell shop so my crabs can choose either the smaller, medium size shells or the bigger ones if one of them needs a new house.

Post Reply