Exo Found, No Crab to Be Seen

This forum is where you discuss issues relating to molting hermit crabs, including pre- and post-molting issues. If you are having a molting emergency please post in the Emergency Forum.

Topic author
Rhoney

Exo Found, No Crab to Be Seen

Post by Rhoney » Sat Feb 09, 2008 2:01 pm

I found a piece of Exo from who I suspect to be my micro Shickitello(it was purple pincher exo, very small, so it has to be the smaller of my 2 PPs) However I didn't go digging or anything but couldn't find him in the tat, The area where I think he was has a tunnel system going, and he has been down fro about 3 weeks, so should be coming up soon. Could another crab have gotten some exo? or could shickitello have brought it up with him while getting food and leave it there? I don't think I should dig...any advice?
Currently No Hermit Crabs until I am out of college, but I have over 5 years of crabbing experience, and much advice to offer :)

Topic author
Rhoney

Post by Rhoney » Sat Feb 09, 2008 2:01 pm

Btw, the exo was only a leg fragment not the whole exo.
Currently No Hermit Crabs until I am out of college, but I have over 5 years of crabbing experience, and much advice to offer :)

Post by Guest » Sat Feb 09, 2008 3:16 pm

If it was only a leg fragment, I would have to guess that it is just left-over exo from someone's molt. And NO digging, or we will have to slap your fingers!!! :pissed:

Tetracolor

Post by Tetracolor » Sat Feb 09, 2008 3:23 pm

Most likely just a bit of left over exo and your crab is probably just digging around. Keep us posted. :)
Crabbing for 6 years now.
15 PPs, 1 Beardie

Post by Guest » Sat Feb 09, 2008 5:32 pm

I second (... uh... third?? lol) the above. Keep us posted, Rhoney. :) I'm sure your little one will come up fine. :)

Topic author
Rhoney

Post by Rhoney » Sat Feb 09, 2008 8:33 pm