Question about gel limbs

This forum is where you discuss issues relating to molting hermit crabs, including pre- and post-molting issues. If you are having a molting emergency please post in the Emergency Forum.

Topic author

Question about gel limbs

Post by Guest » Sun Feb 24, 2008 11:09 pm

Hi, everyone. I'm new to this and adopted a PP (Coconut) from Petco yesterday. He is missing his 2 left legs and I noticed today that he has little gel buds where his legs are missing. Is this a sure sign that a molt is coming? How much time do I have? My ISO is currently occupied with a badly injured and soon-to-be-dead crab. Should I be setting up a makeshift ISO? How do I know when it's time to move him? HELP!!!

evre1's-mom

Post by evre1's-mom » Sun Feb 24, 2008 11:26 pm

Hi!
I haven't been on here for long, but I actually saw a few people post that they don't even ISO their molters. As a matter of fact, it seems about 50/50. I have 3 under in the same tank, so I guess time will tell. :)
9 PP's and 1 Rug. RIP Willie 4-24-08, Spitz, 5-30-08 & our little friend we never named 9/08
http://www.flickr.com/photos/23401121@N04/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/23357033@N05/

Topic author

Post by Guest » Mon Feb 25, 2008 12:55 am

I don't ISO my molters. It is my belief that transferring crabs that are pre-molt to a new tank, disrupts the process & stresses them out. If your substrate is deep enough, you should have no trouble keeping him in the main tank.

Yes, there is always a risk that they might be disturbed by another digging crab, but I have found that this rarely occurs. To me, it isn't worth the risk of stressing the crab by moving him. :)

Regarding the gel buds, crabs can carry them for some time before they acctually molt. Once the gel bud starts to drop away from the body & almost dangle, then a molt is very near (usually within a week they will dig down once this occurs.)

Good luck with your upcoming molt! The first one is always the hardest! :)

Topic author