Molting or Dead??

This forum is where you discuss issues relating to molting hermit crabs, including pre- and post-molting issues. If you are having a molting emergency please post in the Emergency Forum.

Topic author
mmrobitussin

Molting or Dead??

Post by mmrobitussin » Mon Mar 21, 2011 1:34 am

I have this little dilemma about whether or not my crab is dead or not. One my two PP's (roughly the size of a golf ball) has been down in the sand/dirt since about the last week of January. I'm not sure what's up with him. I had to move the tank back from home to my dorm room during that time so I thought he might be de-stressing or molting... However, he hasn't come back up yet and it's now been about 8 weeks since I last saw him... Is that normal?

I haven't smelled anything out of the ordinary coming from the dirt/sand other than the usual wet dirt/wet sand smell and no smell of rotting fish at all. However, since I'm totally new at this whole molting thing, I was unsure of what I should do. I can't even go check to see if he's alright because I'm afraid that it'll kill him. Well that and because my other crab just decided randomly to dig himself a hole and not come up so I assume he's molting as well?

So.... what should I do? Because... I'm kinda sitting here with an empty tank wondering what's going on. 8 weeks is kind of a long time for a molt for a golf ball sized crab.

wodesorel
Tech Support
Tech Support

Post by wodesorel » Mon Mar 21, 2011 3:14 am

Yes and no.

If it were one of my crabs I would start worrying around the 8 week mark. The longest molt I've ever had was a jumbo that took 63 days, but from what I've read of other's experiences, that is incredibly quick. In comparison to others, my crabs molt very fast, so that's what I'm used to.