Changing shells

This is where you discuss shells for your hermit crabs. Not for selling/swapping shells, use Classified Ads for that.

Topic author
Hermiesguardian

Changing shells

Post by Hermiesguardian » Fri Oct 20, 2017 11:23 am

Hi. I'm still new to all this. I have 3 crabs. 1 has been buried for a couple of weeks. I have no idea if he's moulting. I have a selection of 4 shells, I know I need to add more. I have them laying on the floor, not in a shop. It doesn't seem like the 2 that are out at night look at the shells at all, let alone try them on. They are different types of shells. From what I read on here it seems that most crabs shell shop pretty frequently. Also, in my 15gal crabitat, there's hardly any walking around room as is, so I haven't added more shells. I'm waiting anxiously for the buried guy to come up so I can move them into a 40gal tank I just bought.
raising son's dog, Dante. Husky/hound.
Raising daughter's hermit crabs, Shelder, Paras and Derek. Added 2 more of my own (of course) Pete and Stryper. Former mommy to 2 guinea pigs and beloved cat, Nissi

Just Jay

Re: Changing shells

Post by Just Jay » Fri Oct 20, 2017 12:22 pm

Cherylco55 wrote:Hi. I'm still new to all this. I have 3 crabs. 1 has been buried for a couple of weeks. I have no idea if he's moulting. I have a selection of 4 shells, I know I need to add more. I have them laying on the floor, not in a shop. It doesn't seem like the 2 that are out at night look at the shells at all, let alone try them on. They are different types of shells. From what I read on here it seems that most crabs shell shop pretty frequently. Also, in my 15gal crabitat, there's hardly any walking around room as is, so I haven't added more shells. I'm waiting anxiously for the buried guy to come up so I can move them into a 40gal tank I just bought.