Glass Shells

This is where you discuss shells for your hermit crabs. Not for selling/swapping shells, use Classified Ads for that.

Would your hermit crab move into a glass shell?

Poll ended at Fri Jan 29, 2010 11:18 pm

yes
60%
no
40%

Total votes: 20

Topic author
rdug1

Glass Shells

Post by rdug1 » Wed Dec 30, 2009 11:18 pm

I am new to this Association and wanted to share my experience with hermit crabs in glass shells. I am a glass blower and hermit crab lover for over 15 years. I have been making hand blown glass shells for my hermit crabs. http://www.glassshell.com I feel I now have perfected them and want to share them with other crab owners. Glass is made from fusing sand at high temps. around 2400 degrees. I can not think of a better natural material for the shells to be made from.
I have duplicated natures patterns using the same spirals found in nature to form the inside of my shells. The glass is very strong if not stronger then a natural shell. The inside of the shell is perfectly smooth and retains the moisture of the hermit crab for a long time. Glass also has an insulation value which help control a steady temp for the Hermit crab. The crabs have selected my glass shell over natural shells more often than not. I have had up to 30 Hermit crabs living in 10 different sculptural glass habitats for many years. I first started working with Hermit crabs in 1994 when I was doing a project for the NY Aquarium Awards. The curator mentioned to me after seeing some of my blown glass work that someone brought in to the Aquarium a hermit crab living in a coke bottle. That sparked an interest in me and I started to investigate blowing glass shells.