Need help with new tank and climate control please!

This is where you discuss the conditions of your crabitat -- temperature, humidity, substrate, decorating, etc.

Topic author
Vanellope

Need help with new tank and climate control please!

Post by Vanellope » Tue Mar 21, 2017 10:08 am

Hi! I'm new to this crabby thing and I'm learning. Right now I'm shopping for ideas on setting up a 30 gal. I currently have 3 crabs in a 10 gal with a broken pane of glass, so seems like a good time to make the move. It has taken me a lot of trial and error to FINALLY get the climate just right and stabilized, but what works with the 10 I'm sure won't cut it with a 30. I have a reptile fogger and thought I'd try that. Also, lighting - I've been keeping a 100 watt Zilla Night Black Heat Incandescent Bulb over one corner with a water dish directly under, which is what has solved my humidity issues. However, i heard a loud pop last night and just realized that was the bulb going out. (So the poor little guys are suddenly stuck in about 65-ish degrees rather than the 75-80 i finally got it to stay at until i can get to the store this afternoon or tomorrow. I hope they're ok!) Anyway, that means that $10 bulb lasted slightly over 2 months, and after reading reviews (i bought what the guy at petco recommended because i knew nothing about this at all in the beginning) this is a common occurance with that particular bulb. Is there a better way? Currently this is their heat source and has been working out better than anything else I've tried, but i don't see that little heat doing much good in a bigger tank. I have 2 PPs who tend to stay in a hut on the side opposite the heat. The one E likes to camp out under the lamp and next to the ZooMed UTH when he's not busy crawling around or digging elsewhere. So i feel like i do still need to provide a "hot spot" somewhere for him.
Hoomans roole.

GotButterflies
Administrator
Administrator

Re: Need help with new tank and climate control please!