UTH on the Side of Tank vs. On the Bottom?

This is where you discuss the conditions of your crabitat -- temperature, humidity, substrate, decorating, etc.

Topic author
CrabbyMommy2017

UTH on the Side of Tank vs. On the Bottom?

Post by CrabbyMommy2017 » Wed Mar 22, 2017 6:05 am

Good Morning Board Members,

I am new to crabbing and wondering how important the position and placement of the under tank heater is. When the crabs came to me from the previous owner a few weeks ago, they came in a 10 gallon tank with the under tank heater stuck to the bottom. The previous owner also had an additional under tank heater not in use. This was their only heat source before. When I got the crabs I moved them into our old 55-gallon tank. I placed both under tank heaters side by side on the bottom of the 55 gallon when I set it up.

I am now reading a lot about under tank heaters being better placed on the side wall of the tank above the substrate level. When I set the tank up the only heat source I had were these two under tank heaters and they did not sufficiently raise the temperature to where it needed to be. I set up a space heater on the countertop beside the tank pointed at the same end of the tank where the under tank heaters are. This is just a temporary solution to raising the temperature as I wait for the new infrared bulb and fixture that i ordered online to come in the mail.

With some adjustment to the thermostat, the space heater has brought the temperature to the normal range that it needs to be at for now. I'm wondering about other people's opinions on having the under tank heater placed on the side wall above the substrate, versus on the bottom of the tank. I am assuming that as long as I can get the temperature to the right level it doesn't really matter.