Crabitat Suggestions?

This is where you discuss the conditions of your crabitat -- temperature, humidity, substrate, decorating, etc.

Topic author
AuntieEm_

Crabitat Suggestions?

Post by AuntieEm_ » Wed Apr 26, 2017 12:47 am

I'm going to a Pet Expo this weekend, and I want to make sure my crabbies have everything they need!

I'm still fairly new to crabbing, and I was wondering if any of you would be willing to take a look at my crabitat and critique it/give me some recommendations as to what I should buy while I'm at the expoImage

Here are some details about my setup:

- 20 gallon tank
- stable temperature & humidity
- 4 PPs (none bigger than a golf ball)
- 7 inches of substrate
- substrate is a mix of sand & eco earth
- salt water & freshwater bowls
- heat lamp on top of the lid
- substrate is "sand castle consistency"

ImageImage

aussieJJDude
Administrator
Administrator

Re: Crabitat Suggestions?

Post by aussieJJDude » Wed Apr 26, 2017 4:17 am

Climbing places and hiding places. Food and spare shells wouldn't hurt either

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
|| Avid Aquarist Addict (2007) || Crazy Crabbing Connoisseur (2012) || Amateur Aroid Admirer (2014) ||

"She’s there, she’s upright, and she’s wigged" ~ Trixie
Infrequently on due to studies

GotButterflies
Administrator
Administrator

Post by GotButterflies » Wed Apr 26, 2017 6:24 am

Pools should also be deep enough for tabs to fully submerge in, as well as safely get out of.

Modified hamster wheel for exercise

Definitely a lot more hiding spaces- some oak branches, or driftwood for them to climb on to add height

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Truly blessed to have incredible creatures, wonderful friends and my amazing family in my life!! I'm very thankful & grateful for all of them! www.thehealthyhermit.com

Topic author
AuntieEm_

Post by AuntieEm_ » Wed Apr 26, 2017 11:51 am

aussieJJDude wrote:Climbing places and hiding places. Food and spare shells wouldn't hurt either