Newbie question about general setup for first timer

This is where you discuss the conditions of your crabitat -- temperature, humidity, substrate, decorating, etc.

Topic author
Brittany41230

Newbie question about general setup for first timer

Post by Brittany41230 » Thu Jul 20, 2017 2:48 pm

Hello all,

I am a complete newbie, and about to get my daughter a pair of hermits for her 9th birthday in September. I'm doing all the research and shopping I can to make sure these little guys (or gals!) are happy and well cared for.

I *think* we have decided on a 10 gallon tank with UTH and hood for lighting and to lock in the humidity. I have seen some setups with sponges in the pools and some without... is there a reason to sponge or not to sponge? Also, I read that the pools should be deep enough to completely submerge the largest crab, but all the little dishes I find for sale only hold about an inch of water. Would it be ok to bury two small tupperware containers in the sand for them to dip in? What if there is a significant size difference? is it ok for a crab to be completely under water deeper than just over their head/shell?

Also, I see many setups with the upper level corner shower caddys for "moss pits" and "shell shops" but how do the crabs get up and down to these containers? I'm terrified of watching a crab potentially fall and die/crack his shell! Am I being a crazy crab mom already? I know there are nets and things for climbing but I don't want the poor thing to get down in the shower caddy and not be able to get back out.

Lastly, where do you buy your crabs? I don't like the idea of ordering online because of stress of shipping/climate conditions (unless proven reputable and humane), and our local petsmart only has a few every now and then, and If possible I would rather go through a small business than a large retail chain.

Thank you so much!!
Clueless and Crabless (until Sept!)
Brittany

Just Jay