New to crabs

Please post here if you are a new crab owner and someone will be along shortly to welcome you to the HCA! This is also the place to welcome new crabbies to your clan!

Topic author
Jaydick484

New to crabs

Post by Jaydick484 » Sun Jun 09, 2024 8:07 pm

Hi all!
I am new to crabs, and have just brought home 2 little ones on Friday. I got the tank set first to my best ability, but now I'm having struggles over the whole heat and humidity thing. It's agonizing, actually. I had no sleep last night, constantly checking and trying to spray....cover with a blanket....just basically panic. The 2 crabs are in already, and it was a gorgeous warm, humid day here. So that worked well. Then, we had a cold storm come through and the small one started digging. She hasn't come back. From what I have read, she must be molting. The problem is, I was hoping to remove the substrate and just do the brown coco stuff. I have the "cement" like sand. It is so cold. Even with brown on top. So cold. I have two pads on the back, and a heat lamp that I'm afraid to use.... because it's so bright. The heat is 70F but it's just teetering colder. Humidity I got under control with the plastic wrap. So far, this is very stressful. I just hope the crabbies are alright. My main one, that's still above the substrate, does come out and eat. He stands on top of where his friend buried herself. (We like to pretend they are a couple) He just stares out the glass on top of her. It looks sad. But he does come look at me, slowly, and wiggle his long tentacle like things. So I do it back with my fingers hahaha. I hope to get a good routine down to manage heat and humidity properly, without constantly checking. Whenever the smaller one comes back up, I want to take all that and out from that side and replace it. First thing. And level it all. I made hills to make it fun. Probably not a great idea. Woops! I may also get another companion while she's under there, because they pretty much played leap