Why won't my crabs eat?!

Where we discuss the behavior of our hermit crabs, as in fights, pecking orders, shell swaps, etc. Please post all naked-crab posts in the Emergency forum.

Topic author
Ijustcantsayno

Why won't my crabs eat?!

Post by Ijustcantsayno » Wed Sep 27, 2017 9:57 am

Hi everyone! I'm a newbie here. I have had hermie's in the past and never had any issues. But this time around they just won't eat. I currently have 10 crabs, various sizes, all PP. humidity is hovering between 80-85%, temp is probably a little low, just below 80 but if i turn the heater on it will be to warm. Access to both fresh and saltwater. Out of 10 crabs 4 are usually at the surface. The other 6...well they are tunneling in the sand and haven't graced me with their presence in 3 weeks. I can hear them moving and digging so I don't think i have any molters ATM. Either way, i know better than to go digging for them. I have offered everything i can think of and the food dish is completely untouched. Not even one tiny speck of sand in it. The water dishes are trashed nightly so I know they are at least drinking. Food is offered in large shells that i found at the beach and boiled to kill any germs. Should i change the dish? Shoukd i buy food from the petstore? I tried offering sun dries krill and even that went untouched. Apples, peanut butter, chicken, fish, honey, fresh coconut (opening the cocoonut had the kids laughing, those things are hard!) just to name a few offerings. All were ignored completely.
Any tips, tricks or advice is most appreciated!

Happyhermiehome

Re: Why won't my crabs eat?!

Post by Happyhermiehome » Fri Sep 29, 2017 3:37 pm

Hello and welcome! :D