Crabs aren’t very active

Where we discuss the behavior of our hermit crabs, as in fights, pecking orders, shell swaps, etc. Please post all naked-crab posts in the Emergency forum.

Topic author
uncfamily

Crabs aren’t very active

Post by uncfamily » Sat Nov 18, 2017 3:53 am

I everyone I’m a newbie. We have had 2 crabs Stryker and Scooter since the end of August. I wanted one so I got Big Bertha. We have a great crabitat for them. It’s a 10 gallon tank, Half sand, the other is coconut fiber. Lots of stuff to climb on, salt water, conditioned water, fresh food. Temp is at 80 and humidity is around 70-75. But we never see them they r always buried or making tunnels everywhere. They r in my sons room and he hears them some at night but not a lot. We have a light on during the day and then another Red light for night. My boys are getting frustrated because they never see them. I don’t know what else to do to make them happy and comfortable. I did find a claw today and I believe it’s from Big Bertha. She is buried and I didn’t want to dig her up fearing she might be molting? But I did see Stryker and Scooter in a rare appearance when I gave them fresh foo. I looked at them and their claws looked fine. Any suggestions on how to get them active? I’m kinda obsessed with them lol! I wanna play!!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Crabsalicious

Re: Crabs aren’t very active

Post by Crabsalicious » Sat Nov 18, 2017 9:54 am

Hi! Welcome! I don't have a lot of time to respond more in depth, but the humidity really needs to be at 80 degrees F minimum. That would probably help with activity. They need the higher humidity for their modified gills. I got mine in August too, and they've been under a lot for months but are coming up now. They may be molting too.

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk

AwesomeHermit

Post by AwesomeHermit » Sat Nov 18, 2017 3:29 pm

When my crabs came up from their molt, I noticed they would be a lot more active :)
One or hopefully two Clypeatus