Telling Individuals Apart

For topics relating to crab care that do not fit into the other categories.

Topic author
Teddscau

Telling Individuals Apart

Post by Teddscau » Mon Jul 24, 2017 9:25 am

So, I'm new to this whole hermit crab thing, and I was wondering how the heck I'm supposed to tell my hermit crabs apart. I mean, I can tell my budgies apart in the dark by just looking at their silhouettes, but how do you tell crabs apart? I currently have three hermit crabs, and I'm going to be adopting two more after they're done moulting at their current home. Basically, I'm going to have one small hermit (Oliver), and four hermits that are almost identical in size. How do you guys do it?

C_fiesta

Re: Telling Individuals Apart

Post by C_fiesta » Mon Jul 24, 2017 9:46 am

I just have two right now. But I believe the general consensus is you don't. I think some have favorite spots, different activity levels, and different shells but all of those can change throughout their life.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
Hey! I'm Christine! I have 5 hermit crabs. Join me on Instagram @christinescrabcare. Also, checkout my Etsy shop www.etsy.com/shop/christinescrabcare

Topic author
Teddscau

Post by Teddscau » Mon Jul 24, 2017 10:09 am

Nice -_-. Well, so far, we have Oliver who's small and is constantly on the go and is extremely confident, BG who spends 90% of their time hiding, and Kai who's terrified of me and is obsessed with shells (he changes his shell at least twice a day). Man, hopefully Kai is the only shell-obsessed one, so at least I'll be able to tell him apart from the rest :p. Honestly, he is OCD when it comes to shells. He's put all of the shells underneath the bridge in the terrarium, and he sits with them, caressing them and stuff (it's kind of creepy, to be honest). When he sees me coming, he freaking books it! :roll:

cap7

Post by cap7 » Mon Jul 24, 2017 11:58 am