HELP! SURFACE MOLT MISSING!

Please post here if you are having a crab care emergency! Use a real subject and not just "HELP!"

Topic author
happykittylover

HELP! SURFACE MOLT MISSING!

Post by happykittylover » Sat Aug 08, 2015 8:24 am

Please respond quickly! I'm somewhat new to hermit crabs. My friend had some before and I absolutely adore them :) I have two purple pinchers, Potato and Hobostein (Pronounced Hoboshtein) Hobostein decided to jump out of his shell while I was cleaning their tank and started digging around. Potato tried to go after him so I separated them. Hobostein then proceeded to molt on the surface after trying on a new shell or two. His exoskeleton is still in the tank and last night he was in a shell with his legs sticking out. I saw his leg move so I knew it was him and not the skin. This morning I went to check to see if he ate and I saw two of his favorite shells were moved. I looked inside every shell but didn't find him! There aren't any signs of tunnels or holes anywhere in the tank :( please help! Is he just really deep in the shell? I really don't want to hurt him if he's buried and I don't know it.

My tank has a hood with a latch. They've both climbed up but could not get out.

Topic author
happykittylover

Re: HELP! SURFACE MOLT MISSING!

Post by happykittylover » Sat Aug 08, 2015 8:26 am

I forgot to mention, I did not do anything with Hobostein and moved Potato. I didn't want to mess with a molting crab :)

CallaLily

Post by CallaLily » Sat Aug 08, 2015 8:59 am

So he is isolated? He may be really far back in a shell. Leave his exo there for him, he'll need to eat it. The most important thing now is to leave him alone. He'll do the rest. Good luck!

Topic author
happykittylover

Post by happykittylover » Sat Aug 08, 2015 9:29 am