50 turbos for $8! + measuring question

For topics on hermit crab related stores, and member reviews of them. Also for asking where to find an item. Retailers, please read the sticky regarding our rules before posting!

Topic author
hprmom

50 turbos for $8! + measuring question

Post by hprmom » Tue Feb 09, 2016 12:43 am

Newbie here, on advice of the forum I checked out my Joann's and Michael's and made out like a bandit! Using 40% and 50% off coupons, I bought three bags for a grand total of $8. Wanted to share because the bags from Joann's had a TON of green turbos, and the bag from Michael's had a high proportion of turbos (magpie and green or mexican, I think) and some small apple murex. I was really surprised and glad there were a lot to choose from, because of course not all of them were usable.

Michael's bag:
ImageImage

Two bags from Joann's, one bag alone had over 25 turbos! What are the other green cone shaped ones?:
ImageImageImage

We picked out a few with the least jagged openings in a range of sizes and took a dremel and nail file to them:
ImageImage

And now the measuring question. The first pic below looks pretty straightforward, I would call that an 11/16" opening. The second pic I'm unclear about; do I measure further in where the hole goes into the shell (about 1/2") or do I measure to the outer edge (about 7/8")?
ImageImage

And finally, how do I measure the hermit crabs? (The first guy has already switched to a green turbo; the second would not let go of his stick!)
ImageImage

orangefire

Re: 50 turbos for $8! + measuring question

Post by orangefire » Tue Feb 09, 2016 6:22 am

Sheesh very nice score for an insanely cheap price, grats on that!

The cone-shaped shells look like trochus shells, crabs will wear them in the wild or if they're desperate but most crabs won't give them a second glance when there are turbos around.

Can't help with the measuring question though...I'm curious to the answers of these questions as well.