When do I take out of iso?

This forum is where you discuss issues relating to molting hermit crabs, including pre- and post-molting issues. If you are having a molting emergency please post in the Emergency Forum.

Topic author

When do I take out of iso?

Post by Guest » Sun Apr 30, 2006 12:24 pm

So I have a crab that has been in iso 3 weeks now. His molt wasn't the greatest...he lost 2 limbs during the molt, 1 leg and the large pincher claw. They came off with the exo. Anyhow, we are grateful he is doing well (mostly thanks to all of you who helped when I posted "possible molt gone bad?"), although he has not touched the exo. I am assuming this is due to having no large pincher claw to help crush it to eat, but then I am no expert. We have found him in both the water and food dish, so I am assuming he is able to get something. Anyhow, how do I know when it is time to put him back with the rest? He isn't the most active (but then he never was), but he does come out and watch. He just isn't walking around too much. He is a large crab, I'd say, but not Jumbo by any means. We have 8, and he is definitely the biggest. Thanks for any advice you can give. This is our first molt!

Topic author

Post by Guest » Sun Apr 30, 2006 5:43 pm

It seems like he's doing well if he's eating and drinking. Does he still have a pink coloring to him? If he does, maybe leave him in ISO a little longer, but I would think that he should be ready to be re-introduced to the main tank. One word of advice, when putting a molted crab back in the main tank, it's a good idea to give a bath to all of the crabs in the tank so that they all smell the same and no one can pick out the molter. Also, since the molter didn't eat his exo, throw it into the main tank...one of the crabs will eat it. Hope this helps, and congrats on your first molter!

Topic author

Post by Guest » Sun Apr 30, 2006 6:12 pm