White mold over buried (molting?) new crab

This is where you discuss the conditions of your crabitat -- temperature, humidity, substrate, decorating, etc.

Topic author
StephG72

White mold over buried (molting?) new crab

Post by StephG72 » Wed Aug 28, 2019 4:45 pm

Hi - so as I posted in the New Crabs/New Owners forum, we rescued a crab a few weeks ago but we're total newbies at this. I've since gotten him into a 29 gallon tank with 5-6" of 5:1 substrate and on Monday, I got a UTH mounted on the back with heat and humidity now at around 80°/80%.

So we last saw Moe last Friday night (5 days ago) when he emerged after having dug himself in for a couple of days. He chowed down on some cheese, reburied himself and hasn't surfaced since. I'm wondering if he's molting now that he's got some decent conditions to live in, but yesterday I noticed some white fuzzy mold directly over where I think he buried himself. I've seen other threads mentioning that the white mold isn't a threat to crabs, but the fact that it seems to be directly over where he buried himself is worrying me a bit. There's no "fishy smell" whatsoever - but I'm wondering if that happens pretty immediately if there is a failed molt or can it take a while for the smell to make it up through the substrate?

I know I'm probably overthinking this whole thing and given his size (on the small side of "medium"), I know if he IS molting, he could be down for a little while. Any ideas on what, if anything, I should do? I'm a little paranoid about scooping anything out to remove the mold since it's directly over where I think he might be buried.

Thanks,
Steph (a somewhat freaking out new-crab-parent)

Topic author
StephG72

Re: White mold over buried (molting?) new crab

Post by StephG72 » Wed Aug 28, 2019 4:48 pm

Here’s a picture. Image

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Wlfwo

Post by Wlfwo » Thu Aug 29, 2019 5:53 am

It's doubtful he's anywhere near where he went down, they tunnel like mad.