New Future Hermit Crab Keeper, Preparing for Crabs

Please post here if you are a new crab owner and someone will be along shortly to welcome you to the HCA! This is also the place to welcome new crabbies to your clan!

Topic author
DinkDonk

New Future Hermit Crab Keeper, Preparing for Crabs

Post by DinkDonk » Mon Nov 11, 2019 3:34 am

Hi there! A bit about me, I'm a college student, but I'm on a tight budget because of so, but I really would like hermit crabs! My passion for them grew as my college has a pet shop within walking distance, and I visit there about every other day. Because of this, I also have 2 fish tanks at home, all freshwater beginner level fish. I am looking forward to becoming a marine biologist as my career.

As the title says, I am going to be a future hermit crab keeper, and right now I am preparing to get supplies to keep them. Right now I have some supplies, and I am needing some more. Right now I already have some supplies like water conditioner, extra shells, and a hygrometer and thermometer. Some supplies I am going to get sometime this week is play sand, a 10 gallon aquarium, and possibly Instant Ocean salt. One question I have is is there any alternatives to sea sponges in a hermit crabs water dishes? I have a somewhat deep cockle shell and a wide scallop shell, and an assortment of different shells. Do I need sponges to have them climb out of? I have bought water pillows for humidity.

Another question I have is is there a way to create hermit crab shelters? Pre-made ones in stores are a bit out of my budget. My last question is how do I use this forum? This is my first forum joined and I would like help on liek rules and usage. Thank you for reading my overly verbose introduction, and thank you for your support!

Topic author
DinkDonk

Re: New Future Hermit Crab Keeper, Preparing for Crabs

Post by DinkDonk » Mon Nov 11, 2019 3:35 am

Oh, PS I am planning to get 3 small Purple Pincher crabs

Moe2076