Help

Where we discuss the behavior of our hermit crabs, as in fights, pecking orders, shell swaps, etc. Please post all naked-crab posts in the Emergency forum.

Topic author
Lazerdms

Help

Post by Lazerdms » Thu Jan 10, 2019 9:30 pm

I'm new to this I purchased a crab last year for my grandson so last week my son gave it to me to take home and see what I can do with it.
issues is it stays buried in the sand all the time and does not eat. the same is going on at my house I can pull him out and 10 min later
back buried till the next day till I get him out thanks for any help with a starting point

Hermiesguardian

Re: Help

Post by Hermiesguardian » Thu Jan 10, 2019 9:44 pm

Lazerdms wrote:I'm new to this I purchased a crab last year for my grandson so last week my son gave it to me to take home and see what I can do with it.
issues is it stays buried in the sand all the time and does not eat. the same is going on at my house I can pull him out and 10 min later
back buried till the next day till I get him out thanks for any help with a starting point

Welcome! Glad you found this site. Please fill out the emergency template so we get an idea of his conditions. But here are some basics. Hermit crabs dig. They dig to destress. They dig to molt. They dig to sleep during the day. They are mostly nocturnal. And they can stay buried for days, weeks to destress. And months if they are molting. Rule #1 of crabbing. Never dig them up. Especially if they are molting. It can have dire consequences. Only in an emergency like a flood in the tank or a bacterial bloom should they be gently dug up.
raising son's dog, Dante. Husky/hound.
Raising daughter's hermit crabs, Shelder, Paras and Derek. Added 2 more of my own (of course) Pete and Stryper. Former mommy to 2 guinea pigs and beloved cat, Nissi

janellethehermit

Post by janellethehermit » Thu Jan 10, 2019 9:46 pm